Writing Plans for April

So, as someone trying to get back in the habit of this writing thing–and figuring out if I am utterly awful or if there may be even the slightest twinkle of talent in my fingers–I have some plans ahead.

April is a GREAT month to get in the swing of writing every day; there are a few challenges ready made for daily practice, including Camp NaNoWriMo and Script Frenzy.  Both are run by the peeps that give you (obviously) NaNoWriMo, National Novel Writing Month.

Script Frenzy is (again, obviously) all about the scripts–TV, movie, stage, what-have-you–and the goal is 100 pages in 30 days. Right now I don’t have the patience or desire to try to figure out that particular medium.  It ain’t easy, that much I know.  As a former film student, I have read my share of scripts and the format alone tends to give me a headache.  But, maybe next year, who knows?

Camp NaNoWriMo is basically NaNoWriMo (write a 50,000 words in a month) but “camp-themed” with “cabins” of similar genres and so forth.  It’s happening this year in both April and July, and since I already have made my decision for April, I’ll plan to join the later one. (Also, gives me time to try to come up with a plot.  Right now, nada is going on in that domain.)

No, I’m not doing either of these; instead, I’m going to participate in the Writer’s Digest PAD Challenge (Poem A Day, if you wondered).  April happens to be National Poetry Month, and it seems appropriate to try to write poetry every. single. day of it.  They provide a new prompt every day, and the participants post the poems on the website and anywhere else they choose–or not, if they’re shy. You can send them up to five of your best anytime during the month, and they will pick a winner and post them later this year on the site.

(Unfortunately, there does not appear to be any monetary gain from the challenge; but then again, if money is your goal, you might be in the wrong profession. See #16 on Chuck Wendig’s awesome post about happy writers.)

Once upon a time, in my college creative writing course, we had to provide portfolios at the end of the semester of a certain number (don’t remember what) of stories and poems.  I wrote a note to my professor in my introduction, informing her that “I don’t think much of myself as a poet, and I’m not going to force myself to write bad poetry just to achieve the right number of pieces. So you have two poems here, and that’s it.”

I think I put it a lot nicer and possibly more professional than that, but really, what do you expect of a pretentious 21-year-old?

Fast forward ten years, and I’m ready to give this poetry thing a whirl. Perhaps a brilliant writer, in the same vein of cummings, Dickinson, or Ginsberg, will emerge?

Most likely not. But with the intent to no longer be shy, I will be posting a month’s worth of bad poetry here starting Monday. Enjoy it, ignore it, mock it, it’s your choice. I’d prefer constructive, helpful comments, but I will take whatever I can get. And if you even want to post your own in response to mine, that would be six kinds of awesomeness.

But since that doesn’t start for another five days, in the meantime, Book Riot has a really delightful giveaway for the 70th anniversary of The Little Prince: Write a story from your life (800 words or less) that relates to one of five given quotes from the book. Due by 11:59 EST on April 1st, so the timing couldn’t be better for a weekend project. Winner gets a special edition copy of the book, and an audiobook version read by Viggo Mortensen (!).

Happy writing!

Leave a Reply

